From 01 October 2019 some travellers to New Zealand will be required to have an Electronic Tourism Authority (ETA) on arrival. The ETA will cost between NZD$9-NZD$12 and will be valid for two years.

In addition when applying for the visa travellers will be required to purchase the International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy (IVL) for NZD$35. 

The ETA and IVL will be available to purchase from 01 July, for entry into New Zealand from 01 October 2019. Details of how to purchase the visa will be released closer to the release date.

The visas are required for people travelling on passports from countries including Germany, Austria, Switzerland, UK, France, Japan, Singapore and the USA. For passport holders from South Africa and Thailand the entry requirements will not change, as well as Australian passport holders who will not require a visa.

If you are unsure of whether you will require an ETA, check out this list of all visa waiver countries. If your country is on this list then you will require an ETA from 01 October.

What next?

If you have further questions or would like to know more about the changes please see the New Zealand immigration website.