STA Travel Cares

How can we help?

Kenya Travel Advice

Kenya Travel Advice - Added 12th September 2011 - Updated 10th March 2017 - Current 7th September 2018

Some governments are advising against all but essential travel to parts of Kenya.

This includes areas within 60km of the Kenya-Somali border:

  • Garissa County
  • the Eastleigh area of Nairobi
  • Lamu County (excluding Lamu Island and Manda Island)
  • areas of Tana River County north of the Tana river itself
  • within 15km of the coast from the Tana river down to the Galana (Athi-Galana-Sabaki) river

This does not include Kenya’s safari destinations in the national parks, reserves and wildlife conservancies; including the Aberdare National Park, Amboseli, Laikipia, Lake Nakuru, Masai Mara, Meru, Mount Kenya, Samburu, Shimba Hills, Tsavo, nor does it include the beach resorts of Mombasa, Kilifi, Watamu and Diani.

The Kenyan government has introduced a curfew in Mandera county from 6:30pm to 6:30am until 27 December, 2016.

Please follow the travel advice of your Government:


New Zealand


South_Africa.jpgSouth Africa 

United Kingdom


STA Travel are monitoring this situation and updates will be added to this Travel Advice page.

Anyone with concerns about travel in this area should contact their Booking Store for advice.


Have More Questions? Contact Us

< Previous Question Next Question >